Gingivitis is a dental disease that manifests by inflammation of the gums, followed by swelling, bleeding and a change in normal contours. The main cause of the disease is dental plaque (a film consisting of microorganisms that forms 1-2 hours after brushing your teeth). Irritation caused by plaque leads to the formation of gaps between the gum and the tooth (gingival pocket), in which bacteria settle. Subsequently, tooth decay, may occur.

Secondary factors affecting the development, severity and course of gingivitis are changes in the hormonal background (pregnancy, menopause, puberty), systemic health disorders (type I and type II diabetes mellitus, immunodeficiencies of various etiologies, leukopenia, etc.) taking certain medications (immunosuppressants, calcium channel blockers, oral contraceptives), vitamin deficiency and exposure to heavy metals.

Types of Gingivitis

Simple gingivitis is initially manifested by an increase in the cleft between the gum and the tooth, after which the gum inflammation begins in the form of a red band at the base of the tooth. Later, edema appears, with pressure on which bleeding begins. In this case, pain is almost always absent. Gingivitis can, in rare cases, resolve itself, but most often it develops over many years and can develop into periodontal disease (a progressive inflammatory disease that results in the destruction of periodontal tissues and tooth loss).

Desquamative gingivitis can occur with menopause. Its manifestations are redness of the gums and its bleeding. In the future, gum tissue softens and the inflammatory process worsens.

Gingivitis during pregnancy has some excellent symptoms. During the first trimester, red growths on the leg appear on the gum. They can persist throughout the pregnancy and disappear after childbirth. These growths, in fact, are purulent granulomas that develop rapidly and can be in a static state for a long time. The causes of the occurrence are the same as for simple gingivitis.

Diagnostics

To make a diagnosis of gingivitis, confirmation of the presence of redness and loosening of the gum line tissue is necessary. The early detection of the disease is facilitated by the dentist measuring the depth of the gingival pockets of each tooth. Values ​​up to 3 mm are normal; a depth of over 3 mm means there is a high risk of developing the disease.

Treatment and prevention

The main treatment and prevention of gingivitis is to maintain good hygiene. It also usually requires professional cleaning using ultrasonic or hand tools. If gum irritation is caused by poor-quality dental crowns or implants, they must be replaced or corrected. Tumors that occur during pregnancy are removed surgically. With the development of infection, local (in the form of gels) or injectable antibiotics are prescribed. In the presence of systemic disorders, patients should undergo corrective therapy and increase the frequency of professional cleansing (every 2-3 months).

Гингивит — это стоматологическое заболевание, проявляющееся воспаление десен, с последующим их отеком, кровоточивостью и изменением нормальных контуров. Основной причиной болезни является зубной налет (пленка, состоящая из микроорганизмов, которая образуется через 1-2 часа после чистки зубов). Раздражение, вызванное зубным налетом, приводит к образованию щелей между десной и зубом (десневой карман), в которых поселяются бактерии. В последствии может возникнуть гингивит, или кариес корня зуба.

Второстепенными факторами, влияющими на развитие, тяжесть и течение гингивита, являются перемены в гормональном фоне (беременность, менопауза, период полового созревания), системные нарушения здоровья (сахарный диабет I и II типов, иммунодефициты разной этиологии, лейкопения, и т. п.), приемом определенных лекарственных препаратов (иммунодепрессанты, блокаторы кальциевых каналов, оральные контрацептивы), авитаминоз и воздействие тяжелых металлов.

Виды гингивита

Простой гингивит поначалу проявляется увеличением расщелины между десной и зубом, после начинается воспаление десны в виде полосы красного цвета у основания зуба. Позже появляется отек, при надавливании на который начинается кровотечение. При этом болевой синдром почти всегда отсутствует. Гингивит может, в редких случаях, разрешиться сам, но чаще всего он развивается в течении многих лет и может перерасти в пародонтоз (прогрессирующее воспалительное заболевание, следствием которого являются разрушение тканей пародонта и выпадение зубов).

Десквамативный гингивит может возникнуть при менопаузе. Его проявлениями являются покраснение десны и ее кровоточивость. В дальнейшем происходит размягчение десневой ткани и усугубление воспалительного процесса.

Гингивит при беременности имеет несколько отличные симптомы. В течении первого триместра на десне возникают красные наросты на ножке. Они могут сохраняться на протяжении всего периода беременности и исчезать после родов. Эти наросты, по сути, являются гнойными гранулемами, которые быстро развиваются и могут долгое время находиться в статичном состоянии. Причины возникновения — те же, что и у простого гингивита.

Диагностика

Для постановки диагноза “гингивит” необходимо подтверждение наличия покраснения и разрыхления тканей десневой линии. Раннему выявлению заболевания способствует измерение врачом-стоматологом глубины десневых карманов каждого зуба. Значения до 3 мм являются нормальными; глубина свыше 3 мм означает наличие высокого риска развития заболевания.

Лечение и профилактика

Основным методом лечения и профилактики гингивита является поддержание надлежащей гигиены. Также обычно требуется проведение профессиональной чистки с использованием ультразвукового или ручного инструмента. Если причиной раздражения десен являются некачественные зубные коронки или импланты — их необходимо заменить или исправить. Опухоли, возникающие при беременности, удаляют хирургическим путем. При развитии инфекции назначаются местные (в виде гелей) или инъекционные антибиотики. При наличии системных расстройств, пациентам следует проводить корректирующую терапию и увеличить частоту профессиональных чисток (раз в 2-3 месяца).