The aim of modern dentistry is not only filling, but also restoring the function of the teeth and recreating their original shape. Getting rid of pain is only half the battle; each tooth must look aesthetically pleasing and assist chewing.

Usual and photopolymer filling

All types of fillings are obtained by mixing various chemicals that harden as a result of the reaction between them. As an outcome, the filling, like cement, covers the damaged areas of the tooth, preventing the penetration of microbes in its cavities.

Photocomposite fillings, except for materials, differ from the usual with the need for light (infrared or ultraviolet) to harden. In addition, light-sensitive materials have high plasticity, which allows not only to seal the gaps in the teeth, but also to return them to their primary form.

However, it is worth noting that the term “photopolymer filling” itself gradually goes out of use among dentists. This is not due to the obsolescence of materials, on the contrary – modern photocomposites are so perfect and universal that they can be used not only for the filling but also for the complete restoration of teeth in their original form. Of course, the dentist must have certain skills in working with such materials.

Pros and cons of photocomposite materials

Photopolymers have certain limitations on use, but an experienced dentist can do the following with their help:

  • Fully restore the carious tooth.
  • Change the shape, color, and length of the tooth.
  • Restore a lost tooth with an adhesive bridge.
  • To carry out splinting teeth.
  • Restore a tooth from the root.

What can not be done with photopolymers?

  • If the dentist suggests installing dental crowns, then the use of photopolymers is no longer an option. You should heed his advice.
  • Photopolymers are not used in inflammatory processes in the dental canals, as well as during dental granuloma and perforation of the tooth. You should not insist on the restoration of the tooth in the presence of one of the diagnoses.
  • It makes no sense to apply photopolymers with excessive mobility of the teeth, as they are usually removed.

Teeth reconstructed using photocomposite materials are virtually indistinguishable in color, except in cases where the dental tissues are deeply colored with resorcinol-formalin or argentum. In such a case, the dentist must inform you that it is impossible to achieve the desired result with the help of a filling. In this case, the best solution is to install dental crowns.

The photopolymer dental filling can crumble, crack or loosen, but in no case can it fall out completely. Actually, the fallen out filling indicates a gross violation of the basic rule of their installation – the absence of absolute dryness in the place of filling. To avoid such trouble, use latex pads that protect against saliva.

Different photocomposites are used for different groups of teeth, depending on the chewing load. Consult with your dentist about the most suitable material for you.

Цель современной стоматологии — не только пломбирование, но и восстановление функции зубов и воссоздание их первоначальной формы. Избавление от болевых ощущений — только половина дела, каждый зуб должен выглядеть эстетично и способствовать жеванию.

Пломбы обычные и фотополимерные

Всем привычные пломбы получаются в результате смешивания различных химических веществ, которые затвердевают в результате реакции между собой. В результате пломба, подобно цементу, закрывает поврежденные участки зуба, препятствуя проникновению микробов в его полости.

Фотокомпозитные пломбы, кроме материалов, отличаются от обычных необходимостью наличия света (инфракрасного или ультрафиолетового) для затвердевания. Поэтому такие пломбы еще называют “световыми”. Кроме того, светочувствительные материалы обладают высокой пластичность, что позволяет не просто запечатывать щели в зубах, но и возвращать им первичную форму.

Однако, стоит отметить, что сам термин “фотополимерная пломба” постепенно выходит из употребления в среде стоматологов. Это происходит не из-за устаревания материалов, наоборот — современные фотокомпозиты настолько совершенны и универсальны, что их можно использовать не только для пломбирования, но и для полного восстановления зубов в их оригинальной форме. Конечно же, стоматолог должен обладать определенными навыками в работе с такими материалами.

Плюсы и минусы фотокомпозитных материалов

  • Фотополимеры имеют определенные ограничения по применению, однако опытный врач-стоматолог может с их помощью сделать следующее:
  • Полностью восстановить кариозный зуб.
  • Изменить форму, цвет и длину зуба.
  • Восстановить утраченный зуб с помощью адгезионного моста.
  • Осуществить шинирование зубов.
  • Восстановить зуб из корня.

Чего нельзя сделать с помощью фотополимеров?

  • Если стоматолог предлагает установку зубных коронок, значит использование фотополимеров уже не является возможной опцией. Вам стоит прислушаться к его совету.
  • Фотополимеры не используют при воспалительных процессах в зубных каналах, а также при зубной гранулеме и перфорации зуба. Вам не следует настаивать на восстановлении зуба при наличии одного из диагнозов.
  • Не имеет смысла применять фотополимеры при излишней подвижности зубов, так как их обычно удаляют.

Зубы, восстановленные с помощью фотокомпозитных материалов, фактически неотличимы по цвету, кроме тех случаев, когда ткани зубов глубоко окрашены резорцин-формалином или серебром. В таком случае, стоматолог должен сообщить вам, что с помощью пломбирования невозможно достичь желаемого результата. В таком случае лучшим решением будет установка зубных коронок.

Фотополимерная зубная пломба может крошиться, трескаться или расшатываться, но она ни в коем случае не может выпасть целиком. Собственно, выпавшая пломба свидетельствует о грубом нарушении основного правила их установки — отсутствие абсолютной сухости в месте пломбирования. Для избежания подобной неприятности следует использовать латексные прокладки, защищающие от слюны.

Для разных групп зубов применяют разные фотокомпозиты, в зависимости от жевательной нагрузки. Проконсультируйтесь с нашим стоматологом по поводу наиболее подходящего для вас материала.