One of the main means of preventing caries and many other diseases of the oral cavity (both teeth and gums diseases) is regular cleaning. It is advisable to brush your teeth after every meal, and always before bedtime. The quality of this procedure is half dependent on the toothbrush.

Few people know that such a familiar subject of hygiene, like a toothbrush, has an almost 250-year history. Handles for the first toothbrushes were made of bone, wood, or various metals (up to precious gold and silver). The bristles were also made from natural materials (for example, from boar bristles). Such brushes were far from perfect, as they dried for a long time and bacteria readily multiplied on them. The first toothbrush with a bristle of synthetic (nylon) fiber was manufactured by Oral-B.

Nowadays, besides the usual manual toothbrushes, you can also buy electric, sound and ultrasonic toothbrushes.зубные щетки для профилактики кариеса

The first electric toothbrushes was invented almost 70 years ago, and since then they have been constantly improving. They can vary in type of power source (built-in or plug-in batteries), the direction of movement of the bristles (reciprocating back and forth or vibrating up and down) and the speed of movement of the bristles (standard, sonic and ultrasonic).

  • Standard toothbrushes work only in a reciprocating mode and are the “slowest” and cheapest among electric toothbrushes.
  • Sound brushes work in the human hearing range (with the frequency of movements from 20 to 20000 Hz). Unlike standard, they can have several different modes (for example, cleaning and bleaching).
  • Ultrasonic brushes operate at a frequency of over 20000 Hz and are the most effective among all electric toothbrushes. Accordingly, they have the high cost. Thanks to the effects of ultrasound,  removal of plaque and the destruction of bacteria is the most effective among all electric toothbrushes.

In addition to the differences in the drive (manual or electric), toothbrushes are distinguished by the stiffness of the bristles, which can be hard, medium or soft.

Hard bristles can be found on toothbrushes designed for cleaning removable dentures. Medium hard bristles suitable for adults with healthy gums. Toothbrushes for children can only have soft bristles.

However, despite the wide variety of toothbrushes, it is not always possible to maintain the hygiene of the dental cavity on your own. Therefore, you should not neglect periodic examinations and visit your dentist at least once every six months.

Specialists of the dental clinic “GALSI” will help you in maintaining the health and beauty of your teeth with the help of professional cleaning and whitening procedures. It is worth noting that professional whitening, in addition to cosmetic, has a therapeutic effect, since during the process dentist removes plaque, consisting of a bacterial film, and strengthens tooth enamel.

Одних из основных средств профилактики кариеса и многих других болезней ротовой полости (как зубов, так и десен) является регулярная чистка. Чистить зубы желательно после каждого приема пищи, и обязательно — перед сном. Качество этой процедуры наполовину зависит от зубной щетки.

Мало кто знает, что такой привычный предмет гигиены, как зубная щетка, имеет почти 250-тилетнюю историю. Рукоятки для первых зубных щеток изготавливали из кости, дерева или разных металлов (вплоть до драгоценных золота и серебра). Щетина также была из натуральных материалов (например, из щетины кабана). Такие щетки были далеки от совершенства, так как они долго сохли и на них охотно размножались бактерии. Первую зубную щетку с щетиной из синтетического (нейлонового) волокна изготовила компания Oral-B.

В наше время, кроме обычных, мануальных, также в продаже присутствуют электрические, звуковые и ультразвуковые зубные щетки.зубные щетки для профилактики кариеса

Первые зубные электрощетки увидели свет почти 70 лет назад, и с тех пор постоянно совершенствуются. Они могут различаться по типу питания (от встроенных аккумуляторов или батареек), направлению движения щетины (возвратно-поступательные движения вперед-назад или вибрационные вверх-вниз) и скорости перемещения щетинок (стандартные, звуковые и ультразвуковые).

  • Стандартные зубные электрощетки работают только в возвратно-поступательном режиме и являются самыми “медленными” и дешевыми среди зубных щеток с электроприводом.
  • Звуковые щетки работают в слышимом для человека диапазоне (с частотой движений от 20 до 20 тыс. Гц). В отличие от стандартных, могут иметь несколько разных режимов (например, чистящий и отбеливающий).
  • Ультразвуковые щетки работают на частоте свыше 20 тыс. Гц и являются самыми действенными среди всех электрических зубных щеток. Соответственно, имеют оправдано высокую стоимость. Благодаря воздействию ультразвука, происходит максимально эффективное удаление зубного налета и уничтожение бактерий.
  • Кроме различия в приводе (мануальный или электрический), зубные щетки отличаются жесткостью щетины, которая может быть жесткой, средней или мягкой.

Жесткая щетина бывает на зубных щетках, предназначенных для чистки съемных зубных протезов. Щетина средней жесткость подходит для взрослых со здоровыми деснами. Детские зубные щетки могут иметь только мягкую щетину.

Однако, несмотря на довольно большое разнообразие зубных щеток, поддерживать гигиену зубной полости самостоятельно не всегда является возможным. Поэтому не следует пренебрегать периодическими осмотрами и наведываться к своему стоматологу хотя бы раз в полгода.

Специалисты стоматологической клиники «ГАЛСИ» помогут вам в поддержании здоровья и красоты зубов с помощью процедур профессиональной чистки и отбеливания. Стоит отметить, что профессиональное отбеливание, помимо косметического, имеет и терапевтический эффект, так как в процессе удаляется зубной налет, состоящий из бактериальной пленки, и укрепляется зубная эмаль.